14th May 2019 @ Poetrylive

8PM at the Thirsty Dog, 469 K’rd

Poetry Live! Presents:  Annette Huia Morehu& Will Saunders May 14th

Open Mic at 8pm – Musician at 9pm – Guest Poet at 9.40 – Open Mic til end **Koha Please MC Kate Kelly
Annette Huia Morehu; māmā of four, poet, storyteller, screenwriter. Annette unapologetically writes stories about heroic, misguided brown girls, and strives to be the women that she encourages her daughter to grow up to be.
Will Saunders is a musical illustrator based in Auckland, New Zealand. After making music during 8 years in London recording and performing original material with his band Siren, a return to NZ saw further writing, recording and the forming of psych outfit The Quick and The Dead who played around NZ and self-recorded their E.P ‘Destroy The Obstacle’, with second E.P ‘Heartbreak 365’ alongside producer Bob Frisbee (D4, Shaft, Situations, Rainy Days)
In 2010 Will made further solo recordings with E.P’s released online, playing solo gigs, and releasing debut album ‘Curious Maladies’ on Deadboy Records/ Universal in 2012. Has opened solo for international acts such as: Glen Matlock (Sex Pistols), Wreckless Eric, Kitty Daisy and Lewis, Saxophonist Bobby Keys (Rolling Stones, John Lennon, George Harrison) Jason Webley (U.S) and performed live with Alexis Taylor (Hot Chip U.K), and alongside many NZ acts – including local legends Doug Jerebine, Shaft, and Billy T.K.
After his next band Bearhat ceased playing, second solo album ‘Love Is For Others’ was  released online as well as further singles and E.P’s. Will’s trio The Lowest Fidelity formed in 2014, recording tracks for their album ‘This Is The Life’ with Bob Frisbee which was then self-produced and released 2015. The Lowest Fidelity have often opened for local acts in NZ, as well as The Reverend Horton Heat (U.S) and garage DIY legends Fred & Toody Cole (Dead Moon U.S)
Third solo album ‘Hopeful Objects’ was released June 2017.
Fourth solo album ‘Inside Walking’ was be released online Nov 30th 2018
New band Trepidations are currently recording their debut album.
New solo E.P ‘Oh It’s A Sound’ was released April 26 2019
This entry was posted by makyla.
%d bloggers like this: